Frédérick Douzet

Chairwoman, Castex Chair of Cyberstrategy; Professor, French Institute of Geopolitics, University of Paris 8; Commissioner, Global Commission on the Stability of Cyberspace

Frédérick Douzet is Professor of Geopolitics at the University of Paris 8 and Castex Chair of Cyberstrategy.

Her current research deals with the geopolitics of cyberspace, as cyberspace has become the object of power rivalries between stakeholders, a scene of confrontation and a highly powerful tool in geopolitical conflicts. Conflicts for and through cyberspace are both the expression and a new dimension of traditional geopolitical rivalries. Frederick Douzet’s work aims at placing cyber conflicts within their geopolitical context and training young researchers to take into account the cyber dimension of the geopolitical conflicts and regions they study. She manages a multidisciplinary team of graduate students at the University of Paris 8 and the Castex Chair of Cyberstrategy and covers a wide range of topics.

She studied political science at the Institute of Political Studies of Grenoble and Oxford Brookes University. She earned a Master’s degree from the Graduate School of Journalism at UC Berkeley in 1993 then joined the graduate school of geopolitics at the University of Paris 8 where she did her Ph.D. under the supervision of Béatrice Giblin. She has been a member of the editorial board of the review Hérodote since 1994.

Frédérick Douzet was nominated junior member of the Institut Universitaire de France in 2006 and has received several awards for her research: International Forum on Cybersecurity (FIC) Book Prize for strategic thinking (2015); France-Berkeley Fund Award for Outstanding Young Scholar (2014); Alphonse Milne Edwards book prize from the Society of Geography (2008); Ernest Lemonon book prize from the Academy of Moral and Political Sciences (2008); and Best paper award from the Urban Affairs Association (2009). She has also received scholarships from the Fulbright Program and the Georges Lurcy Foundation. In 2015, she received the title of "Chevalier de l'ordre national du Mérite" in recognition for public service.